Field announced for 2016 U.S. Senior Open

The United States Golf Association (USGA) announced today the groupings and starting times for the first two rounds of the 2016 U.S. Senior Open Championship, on Thursday, Aug. 11 and Friday, Aug. 12 at the Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio.

The U.S. Senior Open consists of a field of 156 players, including former Masters champions Tom Watson (1977, 1981), Vijay Singh (2000), Bernhard Langer (1993), and Mark O’Meara (1998), fan favorite John Daly and former Buckeyes John Cook, Joey Sindelar, Rod Spittle and Brian Mogg.

The first of those three Buckeyes have been paired up together for the first two days.

Absent, though, is previous Masters and Memorial champ Fred Couples who withdrew on Thursday.

The U.S. Senior Open runner-up in 2010 has played in three Senior Opens, the last one being in 2013 when he placed 14th, but has not played competitively since February when he appeared in the PGA Tour’s Northern Trust Open.

This is the second time in the 37-year history of the Senior Open that the tournament will be played at the Scioto Country Club, the first being 30 years ago in 1986, and is the sixth time overall that the Open has been played in Ohio.

Things kick off on Monday, Aug. 8 with practice rounds starting at 7 a.m.

The course, originally designed by Donald Ross and opened for play 100 years ago, will be playing at 7,124 yards with par at 70.

Below are the starting times for notable players and groups on Thursday and Friday.

Thursday (Aug. 11), hole #1 / Friday (Aug. 12), hole #10

7:30 a.m. / 1 p.m. – Brian Mogg, Windermere, Fla.; Jeff Gallagher, Henderson, Nev.; Geoffrey Sisk, Marshfield, Mass.

7:51 a.m. / 1:21 p.m. – Kevin Sutherland, Sacramento, Calif.; Brad Bryant, Lakeland, Fla.; Fred Funk, Ponte Vedra, Fla.

8:01 a.m. / 1:31 p.m. – Tom Pernice Jr., Murrieta, Calif.; David Frost, South Africa; Philip Golding, England

8:12 a.m. / 1:42 p.m. – Paul Broadhurst, England; Jay Haas, Greer, S.C.; Billy Andrade, Bristol, R.I.

8:22 a.m. / 1:52 p.m. – Mark Calcavecchia, Jupiter, Fla.; Michael Allen, Paradise Valley, Ariz.; Vijay Singh, Fiji

8:33 a.m. / 2:03 p.m. – Scott Verplank, Edmond, Okla.; Bob Tway, Edmond, Okla.; Michael Bradley, Lithia, Fla.

8:54 a.m. / 2:24 p.m. – Scott Hoch, Orlando, Fla.; Mark Wiebe, Denver, Colo.; Tommy Armour III, Dallas, Texas

9:04 a.m. / 2:34 p.m. – Bart Bryant, Winter Garden, Fla.; Kohki Idoki, Japan; Paul Wesselingh, England

9:25 a.m. / 2:55 p.m. – Ron Skayhan, Huntington Beach, Calif.; (a) Jeff Mallette, North Canton, Ohio; Kevin Healy, Sugar Grove, Ill.

Thursday (Aug. 11), hole #10 / Friday (Aug. 12), hole #1

7:51 a.m. / 1:21 p.m. – John Daly, Dardanelle, Ark.; Miguel Angel Jimenez, Spain; Ian Woosnam, Wales

8:01 a.m. / 1:31 p.m. – Mark Brooks, Fort Worth, Texas; Rocco Mediate, Greensburg, Pa.; Bernhard Langer, Germany

8:12 a.m. / 1:42 p.m. – Marco Dawson, Merritt Island, Fla.; (a) Chip Lutz, Reading, Pa.; Jeff Maggert, Sea Pines, S.C.

8:22 a.m. / 1:52 p.m. – Woody Austin, Derby, Kan.; Jesper Parnevik, Sweden; Paul Goydos, Long Beach, Calif.

8:33 a.m. / 2:03 p.m. – Olin Browne, Tequesta, Fla.; Kenny Perry, Franklin, Ky.; Colin Montgomerie, Scotland

Thursday (Aug. 11), hole #1 / Friday (Aug. 12), hole #10

1:31 p.m. / 8:01 a.m. – Rod Spittle, Canada; Joey Sindelar, Horseheads, N.Y.; John Cook, Orlando, Fla.

1:42 p.m. / 8:12 a.m. – Lee Janzen, Orlando, Fla.; Jeff Sluman, Hinsdale, Ill.; Todd Hamilton, Westlake, Texas

1:52 p.m. / 8:22 a.m. – Tom Lehman, Scottsdale, Ariz.; Mark O’Meara, Houston, Texas; Tom Watson, Westwood, Kan.

Thursday (Aug. 11), hole #10 / Friday (Aug. 12), hole #1

1:31 p.m. / 8:01 a.m. – Stephen Ames, Canada; Gene Sauers, Savannah, Ga.; Duffy Waldorf, New Smyrna Beach, Fla.

1:42 p.m. / 8:12 a.m. – Glen Day, Little Rock, Ark.; Brandt Jobe, Argyle, Texas; Billy Mayfair, Scottsdale, Ariz.

1:52 p.m. / 8:22 a.m. – Larry Mize, Columbus, Ga.; Larry Nelson, Marietta, Ga.; Hale Irwin, Paradise Valley, Ariz.

A complete list of all of the pairings can be seen by clicking here.

Leave a Comment

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>